Home / Electrical / Montgomery, AL
Public permit data · updated Oct 18, 2026

Residential electrical permits in Montgomery, AL

220 residential electrical permits issued by Montgomery, the 8 weeks ending Oct 9, 2026. Oct 9, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.

Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 9, 2026, 220 residential electrical permits were issued in Montgomery, AL, according to public records from Montgomery. The busiest ZIP codes were 36116 (51 permits), 36117 (43 permits), 36109 (23 permits). The median declared value was $71,384 across 6 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 9, 2026.

220
residential electrical permits, the 8 weeks ending Oct 9, 2026
$71,384
median declared value (6 with value)
12
ZIP codes with at least one permit
Oct 9, 2026
latest permit date published
27.5
permits per collected week on average
31
days with at least one permit issued
69
distinct contractors of record (214 permits name one)

What an electrical permit means in Montgomery

A residential electrical permit covers panel and service upgrades, EV chargers, solar and battery tie-ins, rewires and new circuits. For an electrician it shows where homes are adding load, which usually means more panel and charger work on the same street.

In Montgomery, permits were issued on 31 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 9, 2026, Oct 7, 2026, Oct 6, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 36116 (51), 36117 (43), 36109 (23).

By residential electrical permit count, Montgomery ranks #29 of the 110 electrical pages on this site.

  • Mail EV-charger and panel-upgrade offers around each permit.
  • Partner with the solar and HVAC installers who pull permits in your ZIPs: their jobs often need your work.
  • Watch service-upgrade volume by ZIP to plan crews and stock.

See plans for Montgomery electrical leads

Other work on the same permits

Share of these 220 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on Montgomery jobs.

  • new construction: 38 permits (17%)
  • general remodel: 28 permits (13%)
  • plumbing: 4 permits (2%)
  • garage: 3 permits (1%)

Weekly trend

Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 9, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.

Aug 21Aug 28Sep 4Sep 11Sep 18Sep 25Oct 2Oct 9

Top permit types

Permit type / subtypePermitsShare
Electrical / Existing12557%
Electrical / New7032%
Electrical157%
Alteration/Rennovation Residential / Repair31%
Electrical / Repair10%

Busiest ZIP codes

ZIPPermitsShare8-wk avg / week
361165123%6.50
361174320%5.38
361092310%2.88
361082110%2.75
36110209%2.50

8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count. 2 permits on this page have no ZIP in the source.

Work stated in the permit

WorkPermitsShare
panel / service upgrade3014%
(200 A)146%
new circuits / outlets115%
panel / service upgrade (200 A)105%
rewire73%

Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.

Sample rows

Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.

IssuedZIPPermit typeScopeWorkDeclared value
2026-10-0936109Electrical / Newelectrical + new constructionnot statedn/a
2026-09-2836107Electrical / Existingelectrical + remodelnot statedn/a
2026-09-1736116Electrical / Existingelectrical + remodelnot statedn/a
2026-09-0836117Electrical / Existingelectricalpanel / service upgraden/a
2026-08-3136109Electrical / Existingelectricalnot statedn/a
2026-08-2436110Electrical / Existingelectricalnot statedn/a

Source

  • Montgomery: Permit records on gis.montgomeryal.gov, published by Montgomery. Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 15, 2026 – Oct 9, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.

Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Electrical = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal electrical rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the Montgomery, AL metro: every trade × city page there.

The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:

  • Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
  • Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
  • Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
  • Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.

Follow-on: Remodels and solar installs are the two biggest drivers of residential electrical work. Pro Signals covers both.

Questions

How many residential electrical permits were issued in Montgomery, AL recently?

220 residential electrical permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 9, 2026. Source: Montgomery.

Which Montgomery ZIP codes have the most electrical permits?

36116 (51 permits), 36117 (43 permits), 36109 (23 permits), by residential electrical permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 9, 2026. 12 ZIP codes had at least one permit.

What is the median declared value of a residential electrical permit in Montgomery?

$71,384, across 6 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.

How do I get the Montgomery electrical permit list, and what does it cost?

Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.

Montgomery electrical leads, every Monday

Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.

Request a free sampleSee pricing