Residential plumbing permits in San Francisco, CA
96 residential plumbing permits issued by San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing), the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Oct 16, 2026 is the latest issue date the source has published.
Quick answer. In the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026, 96 residential plumbing permits were issued in San Francisco, CA, according to public records from San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing). The busiest ZIP codes were 94122 (11 permits), 94112 (8 permits), 94127 (8 permits). The median declared value was $25,000 across 59 permits that list one. The latest permit date published is Oct 16, 2026.
What a plumbing permit means in San Francisco
A residential plumbing permit covers water heaters, repipes, sewer laterals, gas lines and fixture work. For a plumber it marks houses whose systems are at replacement age, on streets where neighbors are likely next.
In San Francisco, permits were issued on 32 different days in the window; the most recent were Oct 16, 2026, Oct 14, 2026, Oct 13, 2026. The busiest ZIPs were 94122 (11), 94112 (8), 94127 (8).
By residential plumbing permit count, San Francisco ranks #26 of the 70 plumbing pages on this site and #5 of 20 in CA.
- Mail water-heater and repipe offers to the blocks with the most permits.
- Use sewer and repipe permits as an age signal for the surrounding housing stock.
- Remodel permits upstream of plumbing work show where fixture jobs are coming.
Other work on the same permits
Share of these 96 permits whose type or description also matches another trade. These are the follow-on and partner trades on San Francisco jobs.
- kitchen/bath remodel: 40 permits (42%)
- electrical: 33 permits (34%)
- general remodel: 18 permits (19%)
- sewer/septic: 18 permits (19%)
Weekly trend
Permits per 7-day period, ending Oct 16, 2026. n/c = not collected yet (before our pipeline started pulling this source). It is not zero. Striped bars are partly collected weeks.
Top permit types
| Permit type / subtype | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| (type not published) | 42 | 44% |
| otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | 37 | 39% |
| otc alterations permit / 2 family dwelling | 13 | 14% |
| otc alterations permit / apartments | 2 | 2% |
| additions alterations or repairs / 2 family dwelling | 1 | 1% |
Busiest ZIP codes
| ZIP | Permits | Share | 8-wk avg / week |
|---|---|---|---|
| 94122 | 11 | 11% | 3.62 |
| 94112 | 8 | 8% | 1.88 |
| 94127 | 8 | 8% | 2.25 |
| 94107 | 7 | 7% | 1.75 |
| 94131 | 6 | 6% | 2.50 |
8-wk avg / week is the trailing 8-week weekly average we quote in coverage checks for that ZIP and trade. It counts every source in the ZIP and includes permits with unknown use, so it can be higher than this page's residential count.
Work stated in the permit
| Work | Permits | Share |
|---|---|---|
| fixtures | 43 | 45% |
| sewer | 18 | 19% |
| gas line | 17 | 18% |
| backflow | 3 | 3% |
| water heater | 1 | 1% |
Parsed from the permit's own type and work text. A permit can state more than one; many state none.
Sample rows
Anonymized: street address, permit number and any names removed. Subscribers get the full row with address, permit number and source link.
| Issued | ZIP | Permit type | Scope | Work | Declared value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-16 | 94132 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | plumbing + windows/doors + remodel | not stated | $70,000 |
| 2026-09-22 | 94132 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | plumbing + electrical + windows/doors + siding + remodel + garage | backflow | $2,500 |
| 2026-09-10 | 94118 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | plumbing + electrical + windows/doors + kitchen/bath remodel | not stated | $180,000 |
| 2026-09-04 | 94114 | otc alterations permit / 1 family dwelling | plumbing + remodel | not stated | $30,000 |
| 2026-08-31 | 94131 | not published | plumbing + sewer | sewer | n/a |
| 2026-08-26 | 94115 | not published | plumbing + sewer | sewer | $24,000 |
Source
- San Francisco (building): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset i98e-djp9), published by San Francisco (building). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
- San Francisco (plumbing): Permit records on data.sf.gov (dataset a6aw-rudh), published by San Francisco (plumbing). Source dataset. Collected window(s): Aug 22, 2026 – Oct 16, 2026. Last pulled Oct 18, 2026.
Metric: Residential = the source marks the permit's use as residential (permits with commercial or unknown use are not counted). Plumbing = the permit's type or work description matches the Curbside Signal plumbing rules. Counts exclude void or cancelled permits. Dates are the jurisdiction's permit issue date. Records are deduplicated on source and permit number. How we count. Part of the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro: every trade × city page there.
The honest limit. A permit usually means the job is already sold. We say that up front. The value is what happens around it:
- Neighbor marketing around active jobs: same-age houses on the same street.
- Cross-trade follow-on demand: new roof → solar, gutters, insulation; remodel → HVAC, electrical, landscaping, pool; new build → pest, security, landscaping.
- Competitor intelligence: which contractors pull permits where (where the jurisdiction publishes it), and who to recruit as subs.
- Early-stage projects for commercial trades and GC subs.
Follow-on: Remodels drive plumbing, electrical and HVAC together, so Pro Signals customers often partner across trades on the same addresses.
Other trades in San Francisco, CA
Residential permits in the same window, by trade.
Questions
How many residential plumbing permits were issued in San Francisco, CA recently?
96 residential plumbing permits in the public records we pulled, the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. Source: San Francisco (building), San Francisco (plumbing).
Which San Francisco ZIP codes have the most plumbing permits?
94122 (11 permits), 94112 (8 permits), 94127 (8 permits), by residential plumbing permit count the 8 weeks ending Oct 16, 2026. 19 ZIP codes had at least one permit.
What is the median declared value of a residential plumbing permit in San Francisco?
$25,000, across 59 permits that list a valuation. Declared values are what the applicant stated on the permit, not the contract price.
How do I get the San Francisco plumbing permit list, and what does it cost?
Request a free sample for your ZIPs first. ZIP Pack is $29/mo for one trade and up to 5 ZIPs every Monday; Metro Feed is $99/mo for a whole metro and up to 3 trades, with daily alerts. Guarantee on every package: If a weekly file is late or missing, that month is free. If a month delivers under half the 8-week average permit count for your ZIPs and trade, the next month is free.
San Francisco plumbing leads, every Monday
Send your trade and ZIP codes. We'll reply with a real sample from the public records we pull, or tell you plainly that we don't cover you yet.